Skip to content

ABCs of Eating

May 29, 2011

I stole this from Amanda of Lessons in Farming:

A is for Apple, what’s your favorite variety?

For eating fresh I love Honeycrisp and Jonagold. For cooking I adore Opalescent, which is an heirloom variety I’ve only ever found on five very old trees in one local orchard.

B: is for Bread, regardless of nutrition, calories, or whole grains what is your favorite type to have a nice big piece of?

French from Adam’s Fairacre Farms. Crusty and cornmealy on the outside and super soft on the inside. Or Old Order Amish Bread, which takes 4 hours from start to finish but has the most amazing flavor. But mainly, super-soft homemade white bread. Or Icelandic brown bread, which I’ve only ever had at the Scandinavian Hjemkomst Festival.

C: is for Cereal what is your favorite kind currently (just one!) Currently

For a long time I was hooked on Price Chopper Brand Cinnamon Toast Crunch. But now I like 365 Organics Honey Multigrain Flakes with organic raisins that I add myself.

D: is for Doughnuts, you might not currently be eating them but what kind do you fancy?

Best ever were the Norwegian sour creams sold at the Donut Hole (like glazed old-fashioned cake doughnuts but so, so much better). Close second is the old fashioned cake doughnuts (spiced with nutmeg) from a bakery by my house. Doughnuts in the Northeast just can’t compare. And Dunkin’ Donuts? Complete and utter crap. Ditto Krispe Kremes.

E: is for Eggs, how would you like yours prepared?

Scrambled with lots of stuff in them, or as an omelet.

F: is for Fat Free, what is your favorite fat free product?

Skim milk is pretty good, but I try to avoid totally fat free products (except perhaps marshmallows and jelly beans) because fat is generally compensated with by sugar.

G: is for Groceries, where do you purchase yours at?

Adam’s, Price Chopper, and Blooming Hill organic CSA.

H: is for Hot Beverages, what is your favorite hot drink?

Hot mint herbal tea, hot blueberry herbal tea, hot cider (the real stuff!), mulled wine, and homemade hot chocolate.

I: is for Ice Cream, pick a favorite flavor and add a fun topping.

Stewart’s all the way! Star Gazer Light (chocolate malt ice cream with milky way pieces), Adirondack Bear Claw (caramel, toffee, and cashews) and Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough are my favorites. No toppings necessary.

J: is for Jams or Jellies, do you eat them, and if so what kind and flavor?

Jam only, my friends, except with chokecherry jelly. Sour cherry jam is my favorite.

K: is for Kashi, name your favorite Kashi product?

Eh. I like the Autumn Wheat cereal well enough.

L: is for Lunch, what was yours today?

Chicken and vegetable salad sandwich with pretzels and ranch dip. Strawberries and cream for dessert.

M: is for microwave, what is your favorite microwave meal/snack?

Microwaving is pretty much for reheating leftovers. Unless I make popcorn.

N: is for nutrients, do you likes carbs, fats, or proteins best?

Can’t we just combine them all? Carbs are my favorite, with fats coming in close second. Proteins I could do without so long as I had carbs and fats. Lol.

O: is for oil, what kind do you like to use?

Olive oil, canola, and occasionally sesame.

P: is for protein, how do you get yours?

Dairy and about equal amounts of beans and meat, with chicken the preferred meat of choice.

Q: is for Quaker, how do you like your oats?

Old fashioned oatmeal cake! Or straight up oatmeal with dried fruit.

R: is for roasting, what is your favorite thing to roast?

Believe it or not, cabbage, apples, and root veggies all together. Also, ramps and asparagus are amazing when roasted.

S: is for sandwich, what’s your favorite kind?

Chicken salad, BLTs, and ham and cheese are all favorites.

T: is for travel, how do you handle eating while traveling?

I almost always travel by car or by plane and on long trips fast food makes me sick, especially when flying. So I try to bring sandwiches, fruit, cut veggies, crackers, etc. Fresh things that are not greasy or spicy. But always a little something sweet. And lots and lots of water.

U: is for unique, what is one of your weirdest food combos?

When I was growing up one of my favorite lunches was soft sliced bread (preferably white, but it was mostly wheat in our house) spread with Miracle Whip and topped with American cheese and then microwaved until gooey. Now I think it’s disgusting, but I ate it nearly every day for a while when I was young. Now my weirdest food combo is green cabbage sauteed in butter with onions, apples, and sausage. SO GOOD.

V: is for vitamins, what kind do you take?

None. I eat processed fortified breakfast cereal daily and try to eat a lot of different fruits and veggies.

W: is for wasabi, yay or nay?

ACK! Too hot. I don’t like super-hot ginger flavors.

X: is for XRAY. if we xrayed your belly right now, what food would we see?

Seltzer, a large marshmallow, and pretzels.

Y: is for youth, what food reminds you of your childhood?

Hamburger Helper, homemade applesauce, Scandinavian rice pudding, and Aunt Karen’s mashed potatoes.

Z: is for zucchini, how do you prepare it?

It’s delicious added to spaghetti sauces, sauteed with mustard and onions, or cut into boats, stuffed, and roasted.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

