Skip to content

Discovering Spring

April 23, 2011

Guess what? It’s spring. It’s cold and rainy, but sometimes it’s sunny and things are definitely growing and blooming. In fact, I’m discovering all sorts of cool things in our yard.

Like these daffodils growing randomly in the woods. I thought they were crocuses at first, and then they bloomed big and yellow!

When cleaning all of the grass and sod out of the garden, I found these teeny little bulbs as I sifted through the dirt. I wasn’t sure what they were, but I thought I would plant them and find out. Imagine my delight when they turned out to be grape hyacinth! Grape hyacinth are one of my favorite flowers. Too bad there weren’t more bulbs!

No, that’s not crab grass – they’re wild chives! When the boy mowed the lawn the other night it smelled like onions. You can eat wild chives, but I learned the hard way that you should pick only the thinnest and tenderest ones if you’re going to use them raw. Otherwise they can be a little tough.

Last fall we chopped down a giant patch of sumac, brambles, and these long, whippy vine-bush things. This spring, I discovered what they were:

Forsythia! And we chopped it all down. D’oh! Good thing it will grow back. In fact, this patch needs to be cut back quite a bit. Lol.

Anyway, I can’t wait to see what else I can find in my garden. I already discovered bleeding heart and a rosebush last fall. Can’t wait until they bloom. Pictures will ensue, of course, now that I have my lovely camera and a brand new computer with the memory capacity to handle all those high-pixel photos!

And now I’m off to go get ready for a trip upstate for Easter. A cold, cold, wet trip. Good thing it is supposed to be warm next week. I don’t mind the rain, but the cold has got to go!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

