Skip to content

When it rains… it pours…

March 10, 2011

Okay, so there are many reasons why I have not been posting lately. I spilled seltzer on my laptop keyboard and now it is on the fritz. I will need a new one, and I’ve got my eye on another Toshiba, but this time one with 620 gigs of hard drive instead of 80. So that limits the posts. I’ve also been up to my eyeballs in stress at work and homework for grad school and just haven’t felt like posting, although going grocery shopping and cooking from scratch have alternately become both my stress-reliever and my stress-inducer.

I also got into a car accident on Sunday at night in the driving rain. No one was hurt, but I hit a three car accident because no one had any lights or four-way flashers on, there were no streetlights, and it was pouring rain with lots of glare from oncoming traffic.. Yep. Clipped the side of an open door and smashed my headlight, part of the bumper, and the front panel. Thank god I have collision insurance, even if it does have a kind of high deductible.

So yes, that is why I haven’t updated. I have made the following in the past couple of weeks:

1) Spring chicken soup with asparagus and snow peas. Delicious.

2) Old order Amish bread. Seriously my new favorite, despite the three hour timeframe. The boy and I, with help from one dinner guest, ate three loaves in two days.

3) Homemade macaroni and cheese. I think I have perfected this recipe.

4) Tomato and savoy cabbage risotto. Less spectacular than I’d hoped. I think it needs more tomatoes. Or I will just stick to using risotto rice for making amazingly delicious rice pudding.

5) Guacamole made from giant bright green avocados, not the black California ones. With lime and cilantro and onion. Still not near as good as the one batch I had at my favorite Mexican restaurant in town.

6) Beef stir-fry. In my gorgeous cast-iron skillet.

7) Apples ‘n’ onions ‘n’ cabbage ‘n’ sausage cooked up in a mess together with microwave-baked red potatoes. I’d forgotten how much I love baked potatoes with just a little butter and salt.

I think that’s it. That’s all I can remember anyway.

And now, I’m off to enjoy the remainder of my mental health day before driving up to class by going back to bed. Fingers crossed this staves off burnout-induced illness…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

