Skip to content

Gingerbread Bars and Ambition

February 5, 2011

I did it. I did three loads of laundry and folded it (and “old” clean laundry), did dishes. Put away dishes. Got the boy to do more dishes. Baked an apple pie (with refrigerated pie crust). Make beef stew out of leftover pulled beef and onions. Ate dinner. Then got up even more ambition and baked these gingerbread bars.

They were a teeny bit labor intensive. They required an electric mixer (that’s extra work) and the batter was very hard to spread on the sheet pan. But HOLY CRAP ARE THEY DELICIOUS!

Of course, I’m biased, because I absolutely love gingerbread. Pepparkokkar cookies, gingerbread cake (moist bundt, dense rounds, or fluffy squares), gingered molasses crinkles, ginger snaps, and now these – gingerbread bars.

I tweaked the Epi recipe a little – I didn’t have any ground cloves, so I substituted ground black pepper. And I had an apple that needed using (should have put it in the pie, which was short on apples, but oh well), so I sliced that up and pushed it into the batter before baking. The apples are a nice touch, but next time I’ll either chop them up and mix them into the batter (regardless of how pretty the top looks), or leave them out.

The black pepper is nice, but makes these bars a little spicy. As in, spicy enough for my midwestern palate to need a tall glass of cold milk and my tongue is still tingling slightly 10 minutes later. But they are so incredibly addictive. I’m glad I cut them into small squares. Because that empty space in the pan below? That’s all in my belly right now. *nom*

If you are snowed in or sick of dreary snow, I vote you make these bars. Like, right now. Seriously – they take 30 minutes to bake.

Leave a Reply

