Skip to content

The joys of entertaining

September 5, 2010

I love to entertain. I have no idea why, but the idea of a having my favorite people over for food and fun is just my thing. Even though it means cleaning my house, cooking, and dressing up. I love it. I love the planning, I don’t even mind the cleaning because having people over makes me clean and then I have a nice, clean house, which I like. And, of course, cooking is the best. Except I always tell people that it’s a potluck and then I invariably make a full dinner anyway.

The boy and I are having people over for our belated housewarming party on Saturday. We scrubbed our side screen porch (yes we have one, it is giant and amazing), taking a lot of already peeling paint off with the scrubbing, but it looks eight bajillion times better. We bought a good bocce set (the boy’s favorite lawn game), have pretty candles to burn, a half-clean house, new shower curtains (and a fresh scrubbed shower), we’re getting an incredible new mattress delivered tomorrow (finally!), ย and on Saturday I’m going to cook.

I’m making bbq pulled pork in the crockpot (giant hunk of pork butt, bottle of bbq sauce, a little cider vinegar), with sauteed onions for topping, Vanessa’s dinner rolls to make pulled pork sandwiches, apple sauce (peel and slice apples, cook until soft, add sugar), and will hopefully be able to convert blueberry oat quickbread into bar-form with spiced pears. And maybe walnuts or pecans. And drizzled white frosting. Oh, and peach and basil salad. And if it’s cold I’ll make either hot cider or mulled wine. See what I mean? I can’t help myself! Lol…

Although we have both a fireplace in our house and a fireplace in the screen porch, both are in very rough shape, and can’t be used. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Although we might risk a Duraflame log in the screen porch hearth. It’s just that the liner of the fireplace has totally disintegrated and we’d prefer not to set the roof on fire (although there is a very handy garden hose nearby). So we’re going to substitute tikki torches perhaps. Because what fun is having a yard and lawn games in the evening without tikki torches?

Seriously. I am excited. This coming week is also my last at the old job. Which will be nice. It’s out for grass-fed local burgers after work on Friday. Then the housewarming party! And then possibly the new job starts Sunday. Still gotta talk to my boss.

Oh, and I have homework again. Which seriously sucks. Especially since all those books I have to read cost $400+. Not fun. Ah well. I spent more money and treated myself to a new cookbook and glass storage cannisters for baking supplies. ๐Ÿ™‚

Okay, it grows late. I should get to bed. Work again in the morning! And more last-minute cleaning before mattress delivery! Nighty-night.

P.S. It is nearly autumn! So I am blissfully happy about the chilly weather. ๐Ÿ˜€

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2010 4:04 PM

    Sounds like an awesome housewarming party! Jealous of all the delicious sounding foods!

  2. vintagejenta permalink*
    September 6, 2010 4:34 PM

    Not like they’re hard! What could be easier than making applesauce or pulled pork in the crock pot? Lol. Only hard thing will be the buns. I might have to make two batches. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

