Skip to content

Yep, I’m writing a cookbook

August 18, 2010

No, not something a la Mollie Katzen or Dorie Greenspan – I’m thinking something more along the lines of church basement, self-published. I Facebooked the first recipe to my tester friends. πŸ™‚ We’ll see what happens.

I want my cookbook to be a compilation of really tasty, simple, old-fashioned, mostly-from-scratch, veggie- and fruit-rich, primarily easy recipes. Basically all my favorite recipes lumped into one place with comments. πŸ™‚ If I were to ever consider getting it published for real, I would want to include some culinary and social history of recipes and ingredients.

I mostly want to write a cookbook because I think cooking can be a lot simpler and less intimidating than people think. I want people to know how easy it can be to cook from scratch. I think most people think that from-scratch cooking is complicated and involved and uses lots of dishes. On the contrary, I purposely choose to find mostly one-bowl and one-pot (at most, two-bowl or two-pot) recipes. Because I don’t have a dishwasher. I also don’t like recipes that call for using food processors or stand mixers because I don’t have either. If you can’t use your arm or an electric mixer, I tend to avoid it. Because let’s face it – most people are lazy. Self included. πŸ™‚

In other news, I got rid of 10 cookbooks, only to buy five more. Including the fantastic Betty Crocker’s Old Fashioned Cookbook and Sarah Leah Chase’s Cold Weather Cooking. I would make almost every recipe in Betty’s book, as it’s chock-full of that great, old-fashioned, 1920s, ’30s, and ’40s cooking. Chase’s book looked amazing, but was a bit disappointing. Because she’s from Nantucket it is heavy on the seafood and lamb (neither of which I’m particularly partial to) and it’s also quite heavy on Tuscan and Italian dishes, which wasn’t what I was expecting when I picked it up. However, it has 250 recipes in it, so there are plenty of simple, delicious dishes in there to get excited about.

The other three cookbooks? The Eastern Junior League Cookbook from 1982, a ’60s Russian emigre cookbook, and, believe it or not, a cookbook dedicated to country sausage. πŸ™‚

I’ve also got fall fever, as I get every year. We had a chilly, rainy day on Sunday evening/Monday morning and I loved it. I was actually disappointed when the rain cleared and the temp got up to a perfect, sunny, and breezy 82. Yeah, I’ve got it bad. Early local apples are back in season. Part of me wonders – Wait! What happened to stone fruit season?! But the other part of me can’t wait to bake cakes and breads and cookies and make soup and cook apples ‘n’ onions with sausage and fruited pork loin and apple sauce and rice pudding again. Is it weird that I’m actually looking forward to sweet potatoes and parsnips and leeks and cabbage? πŸ™‚ That cookbook of mine is pretty much going to have to be organized seasonally.

In yet other news, work still sucks, but might finally be getting better. I’m starting grad classes again in a couple weeks. Which will be crazy. And I’ve got an exhibit to finish and some consulting work to do – all on top of what is still a more-than-full-time job! As my boss said today – I’m a glutton for punishment. I guess, anyway.

But not so much that I can’t put myself to bed on time! Gotta go catch up on sleep from a very long weekend helping with a very large event at work. If anyone else wants to be a recipe tester, let me know, but be warned that many of my recipes are already on this blog. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

