Skip to content

City Girl, Country Music

July 31, 2010
tags: ,

Okay, so the kind of country music I like is not what is typically labeled “country music” in this day and age. If it doesn’t have any acoustic instruments in it, it’s not country, dammit! I like country music that is actually about rural life. Particularly rural life in the past. And minor key stuff. I wasn’t kidding with Ryan Bingham. I think he’s awesome. But really, I’m a girl band fan at heart. Maybe because I used to play in one. I love that song (uh, p.s. Amanda wrote it. Amazing!) and I miss singing it. Alas, all those fabulous girls are back in Fargo and I am out here. šŸ˜¦ But love them without me! They are fantastic.

But since work has been crazy exhausting (we back-filled an archaeological unit/pit today. Yep, two girls, two shovels, two buckets, two hours, 81 cubic feet of dirt) and so I have been doing no cooking. So I thought I’d share music instead.

Here are some cool bands you’ve probably never heard of, but should:

Red Molly

Crooked Still

The Be Good Tanyas

The Wailin’ Jennys

Lady bluegrass/blues/folk/americana bands are super-awesome. Anyone want to start one with me? I’ve got a voice and a fiddle, a good sense of rhythm and a good ear for harmony. šŸ™‚

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

