Skip to content

Vegetable deliciousness

May 30, 2010

It’s getting to be that time of year again. Local veggie production is beginning and the ridiculously busy opening season for museums is about half over.

I’m surviving my temporary promotion at work and doing two jobs at once. Work has been a little crazy lately, hence the complete lack of posting. Things are starting to slow down a little at work (or am I just learning the ropes better?) and things in general are going very well!

The boy and I might be moving into a much bigger (but also much cheaper) place in a month or so. I won’t say more unless I jinx it, but suffice to say it’s an actual house! I can’t help but squee. 🙂

I also got to do some thrift store shopping recently and bought some more lace-edged milk glass (a small plate for $1!) and Marian Morash’s The Victory Garden Cookbook. The ironic thing is that I picked up the exact same copy at Barnes & Noble and contemplated buying it, then passed. Luckily I did because I found it at the thrift store for $2!

I’ve been in a vegetable-y mood lately. So here are a few awesome recipes I’ve made in the past few days:

Green Bean Mustard Salad:

1 to 1 1/2 lb. fresh green beans, trimmed and blanched in boiling water for 1 minute
1/2 head of romaine lettuce, chopped or torn (optional)
4 tablespoons olive oil
3 tablespoons white wine vinegar
2 tablespoons dijon mustard
salt to taste

Whisk oil, vinegar, mustard, and salt until emulsified. Pour over hot drained beans and toss until coated. Let cool. Add lettuce if using and toss. Serve cold. Makes appx. 4 servings.

Summer Veggie and Sausage Skillet

3 smoked sausage links, sliced
1/2 lb fresh green beans, trimmed and snapped in half
1/2 a zucchini cut into quarters lengthwise and sliced
1 can tomatoes, drained
1 cup frozen corn
1/2 an onion, chopped
1/2 cup shredded queso quesadilla
splash olive oil

Saute onions in olive oil over medium heat until translucent. Add sausage and all vegetables and sautee for 10 minutes or so. Add queso and toss to make a sauce. Serve with fresh bread. If you want more broth, do not drain the tomatoes. Serves four.

This is not vegetables, but still so good.

Peaches and Cream

1 small peach per person, washed and cubed
1 heaping tablespoon brown sugar per person
heavy cream

Place cut peaches in small bowls (I use rice bowls because they are nice and deep), top with brown sugar, then with heavy cream. Stir. Devour.

I don’t think  I can adequately convey my love of fresh green beans. I love them. They are good in french potato salad, hot with just butter and salt, cold with mustard vinaigrette, hot with salsa, in soups, even plain with aioli dip. *nom*

Nor do I think I can adequately convey my love of heavy cream. It is good on everything. In fact, I think I might make some white rice pudding (the old school, not arborio kind). Because heavy cream just begs to be used for desserts.

And now that it’s hot out, it’s time for an evening walk and a Stewart’s ice cream run. One of my favorite things about living in upstate New York is Stewart’s Shops, which are little convenience stores with amazing local dairy products. Including their ice cream, which is not only less than $4 for a full half gallon (often on sale for less than $3), but is also insanely delicious and comes in a million different flavors. My favorites are chocolate chip cookie dough (in dough-flavored ice cream, not vanilla) and Star Gazer, which is a light, malt-flavored ice cream with caramel and bits of milky way bars. Soooo good. The boy’s favorite is Philly Vanilla, which is a creamy, light vanilla flecked with vanilla bean. Also good, but better WITH stuff, instead of just plain. With chocolate sauce? Amazing.

Now it’s time to go walk off some calories. 🙂 Especially that heavy cream.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

