Skip to content

More Snow

February 23, 2010

It’s snowing… again. So much so that I went home from work early, had an afternoon meeting cancelled, and may or may not be able to make it up to Albany for class tomorrow night.

Since I’ve been home for hours, I finally peeled myself off the couch, did some dishes, and then decided I wanted roasted root veggies with bacon and polenta for dinner. Mmmm….

Here’s the recipe:

Roasted Winter Veggies with Apples and Bacon:

1 medium/large red onion, topped & bottomed, peeled, and cut into wedges
1 very large parsnip, (I didn’t peel mine, but you can) cut into 3 or so chunks, then cut into sticks (if you’re getting late-winter parsnips like I am, you might want to cut the core out after you quarter them – just place the sticks on end and cut straight down to remove most of the core)
3 small-to-medium-sized carrots, cut into sticks
2 small apples (I used Empire) cut into eighths
3-6 slices thick-cut bacon cut into chunks (I used bacon ends, most of which were nice and fatty)
2-4 tablespoons mild olive oil
salt & pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 400 F. On a large, lipped baking sheet (I used a half sheet aluminum pan) toss the veggies and bacon in the olive oil then salt and pepper. Bake for 30-45 minutes or until all vegetables are tender. Serves 2-3 as a main dish, 3-4 as a side dish. If you want to feed more people, just multiply the ingredients! The ratio above was a pretty good one, though.

Y’know, I always think polenta is such a good idea, and then I’m always so disappointed by it. *sigh* I’ve gotta stop making it. Corn bread is so infinitely better. We had the veggies as-is with polenta and maple syrup on the side. The veggies were delicious, but next time I think I’ll use a little less olive oil, as the bacon added some grease, too.

Before roasting:

After roasting! Look at that bacony goodness!

Mmmmm…. It really was quite good. Next time I’ll add more carrots, but I only had three this time. And probably another parsnip and more bacon. But it was still really delicious.

We’re supposed to get 8-13″ of snow tonight and tomorrow, so I don’t think I’ll be making it to class tomorrow. Oh well. 🙂 I can’t complain. I probably won’t make it to work either, which means I might spend the day baking! 🙂 I haven’t made coconut macaroons in a really long time, and I might make pastry cream with the yolks. 🙂 *nom, nom, nom!* And, of course, there’s cleaning to do as well. But that’s not so bad when you’ve got the whole day to do it.

And now I should go get a little homework done, just in case.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

