Skip to content

Let it snow

February 16, 2010

It’s snowing again in the Northeast. Spring seems very far away, but it is nice to be holed up inside all day watching the snow fall and hoping the boy is driving safely. 🙂

I think about food a lot. Since it was so snowy today, I just ran out to the museum to grab my research, then headed back home, stopping to cash a paycheck and visit Adam’s along the way. Since I think about food a lot, I was thinking about the faintly sweet, faintly spicy bit of roasted parsnip I had off of the boy’s plate at the fancy dinner we went to for Valentine’s day (the place we hit did GREAT things with vegetables, but was seriously lacking when it came to meat). It was the first time I’d ever tasted a parsnip, and since they were on sale at Adam’s, I bought a few, along with another three pounds of local Empire apples ($1.69 for all 3 lbs!), some more Anjou pears (mmmmm), three red onions, a loaf of bread, a small container of crumbled gorgonzola cheese, and what was labeled “smoked ham hock” but which I am pretty sure is a giant triangle of fatty, hammy goodness. (P.S. I spent less than $15 on the whole lot)

So with all of this delicious produce in hand, I started thinking about possible dinners on the way back. First, there was apples ‘n’ onions with sausage, which has been in the back of my mind for a while. If you get pre-cooked sausages it takes literally minutes to throw together and is delicious.

Then, there was roasted root vegetables with apples, using the parsnips, carrots, apples, the red onions, and (if I had thought to buy some) cabbage very (VERY!) lightly coated in olive oil and salt, then topped with chopped up “bacon ends” (another fabulously cheap Adam’s find – the end bits and pieces left over from cutting their house slab bacon) and roasted until tender. And possibly served over red wheat berries. Maybe with some sausage thrown in, but probably not.

Then, I thought pasta – long linguine with caramelized onions, french green beans (frozen, alas), and topped with a little half and half, lots of gorgonzola, and either cripsy bacon bits or sausage (see a theme with the meat, here?). With pear for dessert (goes so well with gorgonzola!).

Then I thought about risotto. I do have chicken stock to use up. I could throw in onions and gorgonzola, or canned sliced black olives and tomatoes with shredded “Italian mix” cheese, or sausage and whatever.

Then I thought about what else you could make risotto with besides chicken stock. Like, how cool would it be to make a dessert risotto with apple juice? It would be like vegan rice pudding. I think I’ll maybe try that another day.

At any rate, you can see all the different possibilities you can make with a few select ingredients when you’ve got basics at home. I consulted the boy and yes, we’ll be having the gorgonzola linguine with green beans and sausage. Sounds nice to me, too. 🙂 Very comforting on a day like today, but not too heavy, especially not since I plan on using a judicious hand with the cream and gorgonzola.

Just thought I’d share my snow-day thoughts. I might post pictures later, if I remember to take them. I have recharged camera batteries now, too, which helps when you want to take pictures. 🙂

Happy eating!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

