Skip to content

Purple Soup

January 23, 2010

I bought some purple cabbage a while ago and I’ve been meaning to make soup with it forever. And y’know what? It came out purple! Awesome. Here’s the recipe:

Purple Soup:

1 large yellow onion, halved and thinly sliced
1 medium carrot, finely chopped
1 tablespoon olive oil
1/2 small head dark purple or red cabbage
2 Empire (or similar) apples, thinly sliced
1 1/4 cup chicken stock
4 cups water
1/4 cup apple cider (the good cloudy stuff)
1-2 tablespoons brown sugar (optional)
1-2 tablespoons cider vinegar (optional)
4 smoked sausage/kielbasa links or 1 smoked ring sausage, sliced

In a 5 quart or larger stockpot, cook onions and carrots in olive oil over medium-low heat. When onions are soft and starting to caramelize, add chicken stock, and cabbage. Then add water, apple cider, apples, sugar and vinegar (optional – makes the broth a little sweeter), and sausage. Cover and cook until cabbage is tender. Serve with lots of fresh crusty artisan bread. Serves 6-8.

Seriously. It’s purple. See?

So good! A good combination of sweet and savory. You could add more sugar and vinegar if you wanted to make it more like sweet and sour soup, which might also be good, especially as a starter. Next time I think I will also chop the apple, instead of slicing it and maybe add some more for a little more sweetness.

And yes, once again, I am holding the bowl because the kitchen table is covered in stuff. We eat at the coffee table. It’s sad, but that’s what happens when you have no counter space to prep on. : (

Today I got to imagine and talk about highfalutin museum exhibits. It was AWESOME! I love my job(s). I just hope I can keep getting paid to do them. The current economy is not nice to museums. Tomorrow I am going thrift storing/antiquing and am hoping to find some more cheap glassware! I really am obsessed, aren’t I?

Also, it is very nice to have weekends off with the boy. We are often so busy during the week that it is just really nice to be able to spend time together and go out and do stuff together, especially during daylight hours! I hope it’s sunny tomorrow as we’re going to either do laundry (sad face!) or go for a walk (happy face!), probably up in the mountains. I can’t wait. : ) I love weekends.

*sigh* Now time to go find room in the fridge for that giant pot of soup. I so need a poor but friendly college student as a neighbor so I can foist leftovers off on him/her! Lol…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2010 2:09 PM

    I think purple food is seriously underrated. Wish I lived closer, I’d volunteer for leftovers!

    • vintagejenta permalink*
      January 25, 2010 8:49 PM

      Haha! I actually just gave the last of the leftovers away! I made colcannon (kale and potatoes) with green onions with fish tonight instead. Sooo good!

      Seriously. Winter greens are awesome. Have you tried your cabbage yet?

  2. February 11, 2010 12:31 PM

    A really nice looking dish. I tested steamed red cabbage versus steamed green and found them to be identical in taste.

Leave a Reply

