Skip to content

Arborio Rice Pudding – three ways

December 22, 2009

Y’know, I’ve never actually made risotto with my arborio rice. Probably because I just don’t have chicken stock laying around to be absorbed into the rice like you’re supposed to do. But I have discovered that arborio rice makes an amazing rice pudding.

I love rice pudding. It’s pretty much in my blood. I’ve been eating the cold, creamy Swedish kind with raspberries since I was young. And apparently my first taste of rommegrot (Norwegian cream porridge – heavy cream, butter, and flour, served with cinnamon and sugar) was at two months. I don’t know what it is, but hot or cold, the creamy sauce with tender rice, cinnamon, and raisins is just delicious.

I don’t know where I found the proportions, but here are three recipes for your enjoyment.

Classic Rice Pudding:

1 cup arborio rice
5 cups milk (whole, skim, 2% or even cream)
1/4 cup sugar
one cinnamon stick
1/4 cup raisins (optional)

Mix all ingredients and let soak one hour. Cook over low heat (simmering) until rice is creamy and tender. Serves 4-6.

Apple Cinnamon Rice Pudding:

1 cup arborio rice
5 cups milk (whole, skim, 2% or even cream)
1/4 cup brown sugar
one cinnamon stick
1/4 cup raisins
1 apple (I used Ida Red) peeled and chopped
ground cinnamon to taste

Mix all ingredients and let soak one hour. Cook over low heat (simmering) until rice is creamy and tender. You could also add toasted walnuts or pecans or substitute maple syrup for the brown sugar. Serves 4-6.

Fruited Rice Pudding:

1 cup arborio rice
5 cups milk (whole, skim, 2% or even cream)
1/4 cup sugar
one cinnamon stick
1/4 cup golden raisins
1/4 cup chopped dried apricots
1/4 cup dried currants
1/4 cup finely chopped almonds

Mix all ingredients and let soak one hour. Cook over low heat (simmering) until rice is creamy and tender. You could also substitute or add dried chopped figs, ground ginger, dried cranberries, dried cherries, etc. Serves 4-6.

Delicious! I have some cooking on the stovetop right now. Can’t wait until it’s done! I may even post pictures later! : )

Tonight? Kielbasa with apples, onions, and either cabbage or green beans. With biscuits and honey butter. *Nom*

Now if only the boy would come home so I could get cooking!

Leave a Reply

