Skip to content

Where has autumn gone?

October 17, 2009

Here I thought that moving to NY was going to give me fall colors and comfy, cool weather until November. WRONG. Turns out this year is going to be just like back home. That’s right folks! We’ve already had snow. Yesterday, in fact. It didn’t stick, but it was snow all the same. And while we’ve had a few glorious, sunshiney, 60 degree days in September & early October, it’s mostly been cold and rainy. As in high of 40 degrees cold. *sigh* Good thing my life has been ridiculously hectic lately, which should explain my lack of posting. Not only do I barely have time to cook dinner, I have no time to post about it!

I didn’t get much sleep this week because of our complicated schedule of coming back from the boy’s parents’ late Tuesday night, getting up early on Wednesday for a school group, leaving work early to get up to Albany for class on Wednesday night, accidentally inducing caffeine-fed insomnia that led to 1 1/2 hours of sleep Wednesday night, getting up at 6 am Thursday morning to head back up to Albany for a field trip, sleeping the rest of Thursday, and getting up early on Friday morning for another school group. This afternoon we’re going to be starting installation on an exhibit we’re doing at work. So today won’t be so bad. But still. I’ve got a big paper to write, people! : ) Don’t even get me started on next week’s schedule!

Suffice to say that I’m going to be a ridiculously busy girl until November 2nd (Nov. 1st is the exhibit opening). I’m hoping the snow doesn’t stick until after Halloween. Although, I do have an awesome costume planned. I’m going as a witch (of course), but I have the most amazing giant, floppy, velvet witch hat that I’m going to decorate with a white rose pin and I’ll wear a white shirt, my black Victorian-looking jacket, a black skirt, and my new black-and-white striped tights I bought last night at Target! Oh, and my incredibly pointy stiletto mary janes. : ) I love dressing up.

The one truly bad thing about being this busy is that I feel like I’m really missing experiencing autumn. The boy and I haven’t been able to go on many walks, really, and the past couple of weekends we’ve spent up at his parents’ working on cars (his dad has an amazing garage full of all kinds of useful tools) so we haven’t been able to get out to Minnewaska or anything. I really miss baking, too. I think I’m going to try a brown sugar chocolate chip recipe on Sunday. The boy’s boss has cancer and it has come back again and chocolate chip cookies are his favorite, so I’m going to try my hand at them. I might also bake macaroons and possibly use the egg yolks to make a custard. Maybe. If I don’t feel like I should be feverishly working on my paper instead. Which I probably will feel like. *sigh* I’m SO glad I don’t have a full-time job on top of school. I’d never get anything done! Although the extra money would be nice. *sigh*

Ah well. Enough complaining. Tonight I’m going to try my hand at minestrone. I actually got my act together and soaked the white beans overnight! Now, when to find time to cook them…. Lol. Maybe I’ll start the soup this morning. And if I’m going to do that, then I’d better go off and get ready for my day!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

