Skip to content

Kitchenware Wish List

September 27, 2009

My kitchen is far from perfect. For one, my current one is tiny. If I open the oven all the way, it almost touches the kitchen chairs when all the way pushed in against the table. Our table is small and round, with only three little chairs. I have precisely three cupboards and four drawers. Top cupboards for dishes and glasses and some serving ware, bottom cupboard for dry and canned goods, cupboard by the sink for mixing bowls and baking dishes. On drawer for cooking utensils, one drawer for silverware, one drawer for kitchen and tea towels and one drawer for parchment paper, aluminum foil, wax paper, and plastic baggies. Where, you may wonder, do I store my pots and pans? Well, we have a giantly tall but skinny wire rack in the corner by the radiator and hemmed in by the kitchen table. On the top go cereal, flours, and sugars. Second rack from the top is for spices and honeys and molasses. Then the drawer for random bits topped by half sheet pans that hold breads. Then the a shelf of pots & pans, and the bottom for cake and loaf pans and my electric mixer. Skillets and fry pans hang from the hooks on one side, cutting boards, my wire cooling rack, box grater, and pot holders hang from the other.

All in all, it’s not a bad little kitchen. It works. But space is tight. Especially in our small, apartment-sized fridge/freezer, both of which are generally completely full. In our search for a cottage to rent and eventually a little house to buy, a decent kitchen is going to be one of the most important purchasing decisions.

That being said, there are some things I can’t wait to have (provided I have the space for them, of course).

  1. Enameled cast iron dutch oven (LeCruset would be nice, but any will do)
  2. 12″ cast iron skillet
  3. heavy-bottomed 8 quart stockpot
  4. better chef’s knife and paring knives
  5. sharp edged professional loaf pans
  6. 9″ round cake pans (at least two, maybe three)
  7. a square cake pan*
  8. roasting pan
  9. mandoline slicer/julienne-er
  10. microplane zester*
  11. 9×13″ covered cake pan
  12. square grill skillet (the kind with raised lines so you can grill stovetop)
  13. popcorn popper (stovetop?)
  14. food mill
  15. airtight glass storage jars (for flours, beans, sugars, etc.)
  16. small ice cream maker (very small – quart at a time, please!)
  17. muffin tin*
  18. another glass pie dish*
  19. stainless steel tongs*
  20. medium-large deep stainless steel skillet/fry pan
  21. magnetic measuring spoons
  22. stainless steel measuring cups
  23. crock pot*
  24. digital kitchen scale

*Things I will probably just go out and buy myself. The rest will have to wait for many Christmases and birthdays or perhaps a wedding registry. ; )

These things are definitely going on my Christmas wish list (and then birthday, since I’m a January baby), though LeCruset and such other pricey items may have to wait until a wedding registry is needed. ; )

You may have noticed that a KitchenAid mixer and Cuisinart food processor are not listed. This is because I like easy, uncomplicated food. A food processor may be nice at some point, but for me, a KitchenAid takes up more kitchen space than it is worth. I’d rather have my compact little hand mixer, which I think works just as well and if I’m making something like a meriengue, gives me a bit of a workout, too! : D I just don’t feel I do enough baking to justify a KitchenAid. Plus, they are really freaking expensive!

I do want an ice cream maker, though, because the boy and I love ice cream, but it can get a little pricey. Plus, homemade with fresh seasonal fruit and heavy cream would be way more delicious. Also, I could make sorbets! Of course, then we’ll have to get a chest freezer. : ) But that’s on the long-term list anyway. And popcorn? We like to eat a lot of that, too, but it’s hard to make on the stove without burning (at least, for me it is) and microwave popcorn is too heavily salted/oiled/fake-buttered to eat very often.

Anyone have any suggestions of things that I would absolutely “need?”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. snapdragons permalink
    September 27, 2009 7:52 AM

    Wooden spoons, covered pancake turners, metal tongs, a soup ladle, small mesh strainers, silicone scrapers, and a good set of knives. Colanders and a larger mesh strainer. A tiny skillet and a tiny saucepan, in addition to a couple of bigger ones. A grill pan. An electric skillet. A set of prep bowls. At least one very large serving platter. Ramekins. … a kitchen torch?

  2. Linnea permalink
    September 27, 2009 12:59 PM

    the secret to making delicious stovetop popcorn:
    1 tablespoon oil (canola/veg/whatever) + 1/4 cup popcorn
    Heat the oil over high heat in a saucepan, dump in the popcorn, cover and start shaking. It helps if the cover to your saucepan is glass so you can watch the progress of the popcorn. Then just sprinkle with some salt. Also delicious to add 1-2 teaspoons of sugar to the oil to make kettle corn.

    I have a kelly green Le Creuset enamel Dutch oven and I love it 🙂

  3. vintagejenta permalink*
    September 29, 2009 3:59 PM

    Well, Linnea, last time I tried stovetop popcorn I didn’t shake hard enough, because the bottom layer was burned black. : ( And the rest of it tasted acrid. Double yuck. And I’m so jealous of your LeCrueset!

    As for you, Ms. Snapdragons, all you need is a propane torch from a hardware store. They are cheaper, you can get flame adjusters on them, and they last longer. Although, they are much bigger.

    I love my bamboo spoon set. I have a rice paddle, a regular long-handled spoon, and a long-handled spoon with a pointy bit and a slightly flat top. I use them for everything except soup. Martha Stewart from Kmart, I’m embarrassed to admit. : )

    I have a lovely blue enameled colander in the “traditional” style with feet and steel handles, but I rarely use it. It’s too bulky and the holes are too big.

Leave a Reply

