Skip to content

Best Buns

August 21, 2009

Haha, no, I did not win some kind of strange beauty contest, I’m talking about deliciously dense, slightly sweet, yeast-using little dinner rolls that the boy’s mom makes, and now I do, too.

I think I have mentioned this miraculous little breads before here, but I’ll tell the story again:

It was October of last year, only the second time the boy and I had met in person and *gulp* I was staying at his parents house (his Jeep broke, so we were kind of stuck for a while). Luckily, his parents were ridiculously nice and funny and talkative and actually seemed to really like me! So I fit right in.

One evening, the boy’s mom, Vee, was working late (at that time she had a long commute), so his dad and I decided that we were going to make dinner. His dad made a really great french onion soup, and the boy and I made the dinner rolls. Only problem? The recipe instructions ended with “let rise one hour or until doubled.” Not even an oven temp was included. So, we winged it. The original recipe is double the one below, but having that many rolls in the house with just two of us (especially the boy, he forgoes everything but a little turkey and stuffing at thanksgiving so he can stuff his face with these) is really quite dangerous. As it is, I’m finishing up the last two as we speak, and I made about 18 last night at 4 pm. They didn’t even last 24 hours. So this is half the original recipe. Feel free to double it (or triple it, or quadruple it, like I did last Thanksiving).

Deliciously Dense Dinner Rolls (a.k.a. Best Buns)*:

4 cups all-purpose flour
1 package yeast (Vee and I use Redi-Rise Active yeast)
1 cup milk
1/3 cup butter (or 5 tablespoons, we’re not picky)
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup sugar
2 eggs

In a large bowl, combine 2 cups of flour with yeast until well-mixed. In a small saucepan heat milk, butter, sugar, and salt just until warm or butter is almost melted (it’s okay if it gets a little hot, just let it cool a bit before you add it to the mix). Add to flour mix, then add eggs. Beat with electric mixer at low speed 1/2 a minute. Beat 3 minutes at high speed until a sticky dough is formed. Stir in as much of the remaining 2 cups of flour as possible with a spoon. Turn out onto a floured surface and knead for 6-8 minutes. Shape into a ball. Place in a greased bowl. Turn once. Let rise in a warm place 1 hour or until doubled.

Shape rolls (balls, cloverleaf, knots, whatever) and place on greased cookie sheets. Bake at 375 degrees F for 15-20 minutes (depending on size) or until golden brown. Makes approximately a dozen medium-sized rolls.

*WARNING: These buns are EXTREMELY addictive. Any injury, weight gain, and/or stomach ache is seriously not my fault. I warned you.

And now, what’s that? She has PICTURES! Amazing!

Kneaded dough

Kneaded dough. Yes, I have to do cooking prep on my kitchen table. Why? Because my only kitchen counter is taken up by the microwave. All 2 square feet of it.

Flipped in the greased bowl.

Flipped in the greased bowl.

Tada! Aren't they cute? First batch out of the oven.

Tada! Aren't they cute? First batch out of the oven.

What's that? I even filled a few with sour yellow plum jam? Why yes, yes I did.

What's that? I even filled a few with sour yellow plum jam? Why yes, yes I did.

Tada! Pictures! But wait! There’s more! Remember the faux red beans & rice I made the other day?

Faux red beans & rice. And fork. But that's not faux. That's real.

Faux red beans & rice. And fork. But that's not faux. That's real.

Accompanied by a delicious side dish:

Yellow summer squash and onions sauteed in olive oil and yellow mustard. Yum! And the can opener? Don't mind him. He's just hanging out.

Yellow summer squash and onions sauteed in olive oil and yellow mustard. Yum! And the can opener? Don't mind him. He's just hanging out.

And remember that Blueberry-Oat Quick Bread I made the other day? Well here’s a picture, just for you:

This stuff makes your house smell amazing. And you won't be able to stop eating it. Unless of course, you have an extreme amount of self-control. Unlike me.

This stuff makes your house smell amazing. And you won't be able to stop eating it. Unless of course, you have an extreme amount of self-control. Unlike me.

And that ends our extremely poorly photographed tour (my camera hates me on anything other than “automatic” setting, hence the flash and blurriness)! Please, stop by again soon!

Leave a Reply

