Skip to content

New Look

August 16, 2009

I was browsing WordPress themes today and decided that I really like this one, even though it doesn’t have a custom header. It’s says “farm” to me without having corn and wheat and little tractors or cows all over it (although, I could kind of see that with this theme! Maybe a little red Farmall in the search corner and some Dutch Belteds grazing as a footer?).

Today was blazing hot again, so maybe that’s why I like the lush, cool green look of this thing.

Dinner was leftover red beans & rice with some fabulous cornbread I made from a recipe on Epicurious. The original recipe was called Cheddar-Buttermilk Corn Bread, but I didn’t want cheesy cornbread. I wanted the slightly sweet stuff I grew up on as a child (yes, I’m a Yankee, so sue me) and dammit, I wanted it with real maple syrup on top. So, I tweaked the recipe a bit, as per some suggestions in the reviews. Here’s the end product:

Buttermilk Cornbread:

1 cup all purpose flour
1 cup yellow cornmeal
1/4-1/2 cup sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup buttermilk
1/2 cup heavy cream
2 large eggs
1/4-1/2 cup butter, melted, cooled slightly

Preheat oven to 400°F. Butter 8×8 glass baking dish. Whisk dry ingredients in medium bowl to blend. Whisk buttermilk, eggs, cream, and melted butter in another medium bowl to blend. Add buttermilk mixture to dry ingredients and gently stir/fold just until incorporated; do not overmix (it’s okay if there are still a few crumbles of dry meal in there, they’ll absorb the moisture when they bake). Pour into baking dish and smooth top with spatula or spoon. Bake until bread is golden on top and tester inserted into center comes out clean, 20-25 minutes, depending on whether or not your oven was fully preheated when you popped it in.

This stuff turned out moist and a deep golden brown with a very fine crumb and an even texture that absorbed maple syrup in a flash. It even cut perfectly into firm, but not too dense and still pretty fluffy squares. It wasn’t really all that sweet, but it wasn’t salty or bacon-y either (like many southern-style cornbreads). It was pretty much perfect. This is definitely going to be my go-to recipe for the future. We’ll see if it holds up any better than other cornbreads (I covered the pan tightly with tinfoil while still hot), which it might, since it was so moist. I might even make a peach trifle out of it tomorrow night. Got all that heavy cream to whip up, since I went out and bought more. *angelic look*

Tomorrow the boy and I are going with a friend to Lake Minnewaska state park. We’re leaving at 9 AM so we can hopefully do a bit of hiking before it gets too hot to move, at which point we’ll go swimming in the very clear, very clean, and usually cold waters of Lake Minnewaska. Then it’s a picnic lunch and home to air conditioning for the hottest part of the day.

As for right now? Time to go rinse off the sweat I worked up feverishly cleaning house for tomorrow’s visit from a friend. She’s going to a wake later in the evening that is just north of us (she lives about an hour south of us), so she’s going to shower and get ready here. However, that meant that we had to scrub our bathroom! Luckily, the boy does bathtubs. Isn’t he amazing? : D

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

