Skip to content

Dreamy Dream House

August 5, 2009

I’ve talked a lot about my dream house on this blog, but it was always obliquely. So I’ve decided to dedicate a whole post to it!

Exhibit A: The “Squee!” House –

Squee House

I’m not usually all that huge of a fan of this style of ’20s and ’30s architecture, but this house is PERFECT! We drive by it often headed north. It has a giant lawn, a two stall matching garage, and a matching brown shingled outbuilding. The giant lawn would be a pain to mow all the time, but looks amazing and would have plenty of space for gardens. I think an older couple live here, because the whole place always looks perfect and sometimes I see laundry hanging out on a line.

So, in my head, the Squee House is mine, it is not bordering the lands of a federal prison (alas, it does in real life) but surrounded by sun-dappled woods and has a little stream running through the back. The outbuilding is a summer kitchen and the garage has a big workbench for the boy to fix cars and various other sundry things with.

The kitchen would be large and inviting. I love white painted glass-fronted cabinets and open shelves, but I think I also like pale buttery yellow walls and lots of light. Then I saw this idea to pop the insides of glass-fronted cabinets with a deep color!I’ve always loved cabinets that do this with yellow, aqua, pink, or green. pop of color

Grey or white countertops.I like soapstone or smooth cement for a dark grey, or grey-flecked white “marble” like above and below.

White countertops look lovely.

White countertops look lovely.

An old-fashioned ceramic double farmer’s sink.

Don't necessarily need two of them, though!

Don't necessarily need two of them, though!

1920s-style farmhouse crescent nickel drawer pulls.

Like these, only with silvery-nickel drawer pulls and white cabinets, not cream. Also, LOVE that stove!

Like these, only with silvery-nickel drawer pulls and white cabinets, not cream. Also, LOVE that stove!

Like this instead of the black ones above

Like this instead of the black ones above

White glossy subway tiles as a backsplash.

Though maybe not the tiled stove hood.

Though maybe not the tiled stove hood.

A bread making table/island with an unvarnished solid wood bakers-style countertop.

Solid oiled wood like this (cute sink and baking scale, too!)

Solid oiled wood like this (cute sink and baking scale, too!)

Lots of windows. Hopefully the Squee House has lots of them along the back of the house. Because natural light in the mornings is delicious.

A breakfast nook.

Would love something like this, minus the dark wood table and chandelier, but clearly the Squee House has no tower room, so...

Would love something like this, minus the dark wood table and chandelier, but clearly the Squee House has no tower room, so...

I would settle for something that looks a little more like this.

I would settle for something that looks a little more like this.

A walk-in pantry or butler’s pantry with open shelving. I would even settle for making my own with sturdy wire shelving, a la Ina Garten:

Not perfectly beautiful, but spacious!

Not perfectly beautiful, but spacious!

Bamboo or cork flooring. With striped rag rugs in front of the sink. *grin* Okay, so! That pretty much covers the kitchen, right? The rest of the house I’m open to, but I love blue ticking, especially on upholstery, I love medium-brown, blonde, and cherry wood (not so much a fan of the natural pine or oak – too ’70s looking!). I like colors, but tend toward paler versions. I particularly love deep pale green (you’ve seen it, it looks like a cross between grass green and pale jade) with dark wood and lots of windows (for a three season porch or living room, for instance). I love the pale buttery yellow, especially in the kitchen. Aqua or orangey-pink for bathrooms (I said OR people, it’s a little too ’50s to put them together). Cobalt blue and raspberry/strawberry pinky-reds and true reds and bright yellow and grass green for pop-y accent colors.

I love deep, but not necessarily bright colors in the home, in addition to paler shades. Like jewel tones. My house inspiration also comes from FireKing jadite and azurite and milk glass, but also yellowware ceramics.

I find my style a little difficult to explain. I guess I would have to describe it as “country” if I had to, as American vintage farmhouse style, Swedish country style, and French country style are big influences, but I hate natural oak and knotty pine and “country” calico prints. And I HATE roosters and geese. Ugh. So ’90s. And grapes. Why oh why do grapes and dirty cream/white/yellow “distressed” finishes apparently equal “French country” these days?

I’m kind of “traditional” in that I love antique furniture and lines, but in this country “traditional” tends toward Victorian/Edwardian furniture styles, which are not my favorite. I prefer Federal and Georgian styles for more formal rooms, and Mission/Arts & Crafts and farmhouse styles for less formal rooms. I do love sleigh beds, though. 🙂

I’m kind of “modern,” in that I like a lot of white and simpler fabrics and less clutter, and I enjoy some mid-century modern pieces and IKEA is quite fun, but I couldn’t live in most “modern” style rooms, which feel empty and cold.

Really, what I’d strive for in my dream house is that kind of feeling you get when you visit grandma’s old farmhouse mixed in with a little of what you get from visiting lake cabins/camps or beach houses/cottages. That kind of open, airy feel that is still warm and cozy and comfortable. Not too cluttered, but not empty. With rooms that look lived in, with comfy non-matching, but coordinating furniture and non-garish colors and lots of natural light. (Clearly, all of my window coverings are going to have to be sheer, what with my love of natural light!)

By the way, maybe you can help me, I’ve been trying to identify the historic architectural period of the Squee House and can’t figure it out! I know they were built in the late ’20s and into the ’30s and early ’40s, but I have no idea what to call this style. The closest I can find is Tudor Revival, but there’s not usually half-timbering on these little houses. Help!

Okay, this is clearly going to have to be more than one post since it’s getting really long. So I’m off for now. I’ll maybe update later.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. snapdragons permalink
    August 5, 2009 1:47 PM

    Reading this entry was 1000% better than working, in the five minutes it took me to read it. In the future, please write at least ten similar posts per day. I’m not distracted enough.

  2. vintagejenta permalink*
    August 5, 2009 3:48 PM

    ROFLMAO! Well, considering it took me like 2 hours to write (finding all those pictures was HARD!) that might be a little difficult, but I will try!

    It wasn’t too rambling? Maybe I will tackle the rest of the house next! And then perhaps, the garden? : D

    Uhoh, you’ve gone and given me encouragement. Now I’ll probably spend even more time on this blog!

Leave a Reply

