Skip to content

Malted Oatmeal Macaroons

July 25, 2009

The boy and I went to a party last night and I brought these little suckers with. They are thin and buttery and crispy, if a teensy bit disappointing. I think it’s cause I used buckwheat honey instead of regular, but I won’t know until I try them again! Also, the addition of chocolate chips for an attempt at chocolate malt cookies ended up being a melty mess. The guests seemed to like them, though! And now that I have malted milk powder, I might just have to whip out the shake mixing attachment to my handheld mixer, the chocolate syrup, and the vanilla ice cream to make chocolate malts. We’ll see!

Anywho, here’s the recipe for your gandering:

Malted Milk and Oat Cookies:
from Christabel Martin’s “Cookies: A fine collection of sweet treats”

1 cup self-rising flour
1 cup rolled oats (not quick-cooking!)
3/4 superfine sugar (I used just regular white sugar)
1/3 cup malted milk powder
3/4 cup unsweetened dried coconut
2 tablespoons honey (I used buckwheat, which has a stronger, almost malty flavor – not recommended)
1/2 cup + 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
1/2 cup chocolate chips (very optional)

Preheat oven to 350 F. Line two cookie sheets with parchment paper (saves on mess, I promise!).

Sift flour (skipped that and whisked) in large bowl and add oats, sugar, milk powder, and coconut. Mix together and make a well in the center.

Place butter, honey, and 1 tablespoon hot water into a small saucepan. Stir over low heat until butter is just melted. Pour into well of dry ingredients and mix with a wooden spoon. Dough will be very soft, but not sticky (all that butter, you know). If you want to, add the chocolate chips now, but be warned that they will melt and if you don’t fold them in gently, they will just mix into the batter and not really add anything to the cookies. : (

Roll into small balls (tablespoon sized or smaller) and flatten slightly. These puppies expand out a lot, so don’t space them too close together or they will join into giant cookies. Bake 12-15 minutes (I did 12 and that was plenty) or until golden brown around the edges. Let cool on cookie sheets, then transfer to wire rack while still warm.

Recipe says it makes 26, but I made at least 3 dozen. If you made them really large, you could roll them around a wooden krumkake or pizelle cone and fill! They are really quite flexible and chewy when they come out of the oven, so that would be easy. I also feel they need to be served with something like ice cream, so a cream filling would be nice.

This afternoon I am headed over to Paul’s for an al fresco lunch and band rehearsal, which will be nice as I haven’t played in at least a full week. The boy is at work and our other band mate is in Mexico, so it’ll just be me and Paul. The boy’s mom let me borrow one of her guitars, so since he’s a luthier also, Paul will be looking it over and giving me some new strings.

By the by, if you are a “geetar” player and need chords for your favorite songs, including classic and modern country, check out Cowboylyrics.com, which is a nice free site without all the popups and spyware of most places that includes lyrics and, more importantly, tabs for a lot of songs. I know I’ll be printing off some to take along this afternoon!

I’d better get on that. And pack up some of those cookies and some potato salad to take to Paul, who needs feeding! : D I love feeding people.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

