Skip to content

Refrigerator tea for a happy 4th of July

July 4, 2009

I love iced tea, particularly iced herbal teas. But on a hot day, you don’t really want to be boiling water and heating up the house, even if you now have air conditioning (like I do! Yay!).

I was on Kitchn.com the other day and they posted an intriguing idea: simply fill a pitcher with water (cold, cool, lukewarm, hot, doesn’t matter), add a teabag or two, and let sit in the fridge for a couple hours or overnight. In the morning, you’ll have perfectly brewed iced tea! And it doesn’t get bitter like adding tea to boiling water sometimes does. Although, to be frank, if you time your tea steeping like you are supposed to do with black teas (3-5 minutes, usually), you won’t get that either.

I’ve only got Lady Grey, Earl Grey, Double Bergamot Earl Grey, and Peppermint in the house, so I tried peppermint and it was delicious! Very refreshing. Of course, now I need to buy some hibiscus and/or rosehip tea so I can make karkady an Egyptian sweetened hibiscus tea that is served cold. It’s fruity and sweet and chock full of vitamin C.

The boy is a liquid-a-holic and drinks tons of water, juice, and milk, but particularly juice. Even buying from concentrate, this is getting to be kind of an expensive habit, not to mention not very good for you. I’m hoping iced tea can be the substitute for a while. I also need to stop making desserts because he eats a lot of whatever I make. Plus, then it’s in the house for me to eat, too! Luckily, I foisted off the peanut butter cookies on his co-workers and the one co-worker who requested them has consumed the most. Yay! UNfortunately, I sent two dozen cookies yesterday and by the end of the day there were only five left. The boy has only 5 people under him and this bosses don’t eat the treats I send (usually). So slow down, people!

In case you hadn’t noticed, it’s the 4th of July today, aka American Independence Day. There’s stuff going on at the Revolutionary War site where the boy works (of course), so I’m going to go visit this afternoon, then after dinner tonight we’re headed down to West Point to see the West Point military band (they’re doing the 1812 Overture with live cannon fire!) and watch the fireworks. Should be very fun.

Now, tea was boycotted during the American Revolution and Revolutionary women often brewed tisanes, although the only evidence I can find via a quick perusal of the internet is that they brewed raspberry leaves. So, even though iced tea wasn’t invented until the St. Louis World’s Fair (aka the Louisiana Purchase Exhibition) in 1904, I think we should all raise a glass to celebrate the 4th.

Happy tea/tisane drinking, happy fireworks, happy independence, happy summer!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rathwirt permalink
    July 6, 2009 9:22 AM

    I prefer sun teas. Just as easy yet delicious. Just get a large container, drop in some teabags, and leave it outside on a sunny day. El yum.

  2. vintagejenta permalink*
    July 6, 2009 8:09 PM

    Haha. Yeah, I like sun tea, too, but don’t have very large containers. Plus, then it’s never cold, unless you put it in the fridge, and mine is tiny!

Leave a Reply

