Skip to content

Baking in NY

June 20, 2009

Since I currently don’t have a job, I’ve been baking quite a bit recently. The other day I baked a black plum clafoutis, yesterday I baked coconut macaroons, and today I baked Russian half-moon cookies filled with cherry jam!

And, since I finally have access to a computer with a card-reader, here, finally, is a picture just for you:

Rhubarb apricot clafoutis

Rhubarb apricot clafoutis

Here was my first attempt at clafoutis. Isn’t it pretty? And so easy.

Tomorrow I think I will tackle madeleines, since I have a pan and a *gasp!* easy recipe!

Tonight I make lazy “lasagna” bake (read: whole wheat rotini, smoked sausage, cottage cheese, tomatoes, onion, spaghetti sauce, garlic, and shredded cheese) and garlic bread with ice cream and macaroons for dessert. Yum!

Since the boy works at a historic site, I’m trying to bake things that are 18th Century-esque so that I can send them along with him to share with his minions. Macaroons are for-sure period. Madeleines are likely period. Cherry jam crescent moons? Maybe. They are only butter, farmer’s cheese (aka cottage cheese that I squeezed the liquid out of), and flour with cherry jam in the middles. Presumably they could have been made during the Revolution.

I will someday attempt to make earl grey madeleines, like they did at Nichole’s Fine Pastry. It seems all they did was add loose-leaf earl grey tea to the batter, which I could presumably do. I might add orange zest to tomorrow’s batch or maybe a little lemon exract to flavor them up a bit.

The only problem with all this cooking is that I often have to do dishes twice a day! That’s right, no dishwasher in this apartment, alas. But still, a gas stove! That makes up for it.

I now kind of wish I could be a housewife, since baking and cooking are so much fun. But only if I had a cottage or a house where I could have a garden. Because in an apartment this small, there is only so much cleaning you can ever do.

Alas, I’ve got to find a job and there’s grad school in the fall. *sigh* Oh well. It’s nice to have this time to indulge a little.

And now I’m off to start dinner and e-mail my grad advisor.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

