Skip to content

Amazing resource for culinary historian

June 20, 2009

Michigan State University is awesome, if only for their Feeding America project. It’s an online digital collection of American cookbooks spanning from the 1790s to the 1920s. Digital images of pages are available, as are text-only transcriptions. For any food lover, history buff, and/or food historian, this is a treasure trove. I just found it and I can’t wait to explore it. I hope you enjoy it, too!

I was planning on purchasing some fascimiles of historic cookbooks (I already have the hardcover Fannie Farmer), but now I don’t have to. I probably still will, but it’s not required. : D

Can’t wait to try out some of the historic recipes!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

