Skip to content

Allium Festival Dream

May 12, 2009

So, I used to hate onions. As a child, I would pick them out of spaghetti sauce, off of hamburgers, and yes, even dig them out of meatballs and meatloaf. But as I’ve gotten older, I’ve developed a slight crush on onions, a romance with leeks, and an all-out obsession with green onions & garlic.

As I was taking a nap today, I had a strange dream. I was living in an adorable apartment/cottage with the boy, we had many of his friends & coworkers over, and we threw an Allium Festival in autumn. I made homemade pita chips and warm flatbread to go with roasted elephant garlic, hot kale-leek dip (much like spinach & artichoke, nice and creamy and bad for you), and a cream cheese dip made with beef and green onions as hors d’oeuvres, with garlic-chive smashed potatoes, fried apples ‘n’ onions (northern spy and vidalia), and Spanish-onion studded Swedish meatballs (the spices go nicely with sweet apples ‘n’ onions).

But no, there was no garlic, onion, or leek in the dessert, mostly ’cause I hadn’t gotten that far, although I have heard of garlic ice cream! Fresh fruit and a cheese course would be a nice finish, however.

But doesn’t it all sound yummy? I almost want it to be autumn just for that.

Thankfully, it is not autumn. Our rhubarb is quietly exploding against the side of the house, though. Will have to make crisp, pie, custard, ice cream sauce, or cake soon. Possibly tomorrow night, since the boy is going to see Star Trek with a friend (I’ve already seen it: AMAZING!). A co-worker has requested some as well.

Can’t wait to check out the farmers’ markets in NY when I move out there. The boy is flying out to drive back with me and he has to be back to work by June 16th, so I’ll be in NY by then! Also can’t wait to have someone to cook for. Good thing we’re an active couple!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

